LTH Home

Barnaby's in Northbrook - distinctive, thin-crust pizza

Barnaby's in Northbrook - distinctive, thin-crust pizza
  • Forum HomePost Reply BackTop
     Page 1 of 4
  • Barnaby's in Northbrook - distinctive, thin-crust pizza

Post #1 - February 21st, 2008, 4:37 pm
    Post #1 - February 21st, 2008, 4:37 pm Post #1 - February 21st, 2008, 4:37 pm
    I've been hitting Barnaby's in Northbrook for well over 30 years. I know there are other Barnaby's in Chicagoland but from what I can gather, they are each independantly owned and the food is not identical across the locations. Growing up in Glencoe, we used to frequent the Northbrook location and later, during my teenage summers working at Ravinia, it was the one nearby place that was almost always open when we got off work. As such, we went there with great frequency. Now, I tend to eat there (or carry out) once or twice a month.

What I really love about Barnaby's is their corn-meal assisted, thin-crust pizza. It's made from a relatively short dough and has a light crunchiness to it that really satisfies. Their toppings, while not artisanal in any way, are very tasty. Their sausage is excellent and I really love their pepperoni, too. In addition to their fine pizza, they offer sandwiches, noodles, salads and a full bar, too. I generally stick to the pizza but their burgers -- some made with Black Angus beef -- can be very tasty.

By far, my favorite pizza combo at Barnaby's is pepperoni and onion but at a recent lunch with a few fellow LTH'ers, I tried a couple other combinations that were very nice too . . .

Barnaby's - The Family Inn, Northbrook location

Pepperoni and Onion . . . as I mentioned up top, this is my 'go-to' combo at Barnaby's. I'm not sure what they do to the onions -- beyond slicing them very thin -- but this is one of the few places where I really love onion on my pizza. They just work.

Slice of pepperoni and onion