LTH Home

Metaxa

Metaxa
  • Forum HomePost Reply BackTop
  • Metaxa

Post #1 - October 9th, 2010, 3:00 pm
    Post #1 - October 9th, 2010, 3:00 pm Post #1 - October 9th, 2010, 3:00 pm
    I've been drinking 7 Star Metaxa Greek brandy for many years. For those familiar with it, you know the difference between the 5 and 7 star versions. However, in the past year or so, my palate seems to have noticed a deterioration in the taste of the 7 star product, to the point where it seems more like how I remember the 5 star version tasted. Am I alone in this perception?
    What if the Hokey Pokey really IS what it's all about?
  • Post #2 - October 11th, 2010, 1:08 pm
    Post #2 - October 11th, 2010, 1:08 pm Post #2 - October 11th, 2010, 1:08 pm
    I guess I'm the only one here who drinks this stuff. :P
  • Post #3 - October 11th, 2010, 7:47 pm
    Post #3 - October 11th, 2010, 7:47 pm Post #3 - October 11th, 2010, 7:47 pm
    After 35+ years dining in Greektown, I only drink Metaxa Grand Fine...

http://www.grandwinecellar.com/sku12990.html?utm_source=Shopping&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=METAXA%20GRAND%20FINE%2080@%20BRANDY
    Charter member of PETA - People Eating Tasty Animals
  • Post #4 - October 12th, 2010, 3:28 pm
    Post #4 - October 12th, 2010, 3:28 pm Post #4 - October 12th, 2010, 3:28 pm
    Cogito - you're not alone! But my palate has a tough time distinguishing between the 5* and 7*. I put this to a serious test during my honeymoon (first marriage) in Greece. However, I do taste a BIG difference between the 7* at the 50-year (or so it's advertised) that is sold in the nice-looking presentation ceramic vessels. This rendition is my ne plus ultra brandy - I like it even better than the couple XO's I've had and it's less expensive.

Now - if you wanna really stretch your tastebuds, tie in to some Zamoura :shock:

Davooda
    Life is a garden, Dude - DIG IT!
    -- anonymous Colorado snowboarder whizzing past me March 2010