LTH Home

UBAA/Old Crawford Inn

UBAA/Old Crawford Inn
  • Forum HomePost Reply BackTop
     Page 1 of 2
  • UBAA/Old Crawford Inn

Post #1 - April 22nd, 2006, 4:48 pm
    Post #1 - April 22nd, 2006, 4:48 pm Post #1 - April 22nd, 2006, 4:48 pm
    In another thread, I asked Josephine if she had ever been to the UBAA/Old Crawford Inn since she seems to live nearby. This lead to a discussion of the UBAA's history (it has been run by the same family since 1939) and of course, their food. I was once a huge fan of UBAA/Old Crawford burgers. However, I realized it had been many years since I actually ate one. So, to make sure I wasn't steering anybody into dangerous waters by recommending the place, I convinced a colleague of mine to take a long detour with me to the UBAA for lunch yesterday. I apologize in advance for my poor photography. Thanks to inspiration from members of the LTHForum, I am just learning the art of photographing my food (and annoying my fellow diners).

UBAA/Old Crawford Inn is at the intersection of Old Orchard and Crawford on the border of Evanston and Skokie. Although the address is on Crawford, the entrance and parking lot are actually on Old Orchard Rd. Look for the free-standing Old Style sign flapping in the breeze. Watch out for the sign when you leave, people back up into the thing all the time after hoisting a few.
    Not surprisingly, the building that houses UBAA has not won any design awards. I thought the newly replaced awning was a nice touch, even though it is like putting lipstick on a pig.