LTH Home

Afghan Restaurant

Afghan Restaurant
  • Forum HomePost Reply BackTop
  • Afghan Restaurant

Post #1 - October 31st, 2004, 12:07 am
    Post #1 - October 31st, 2004, 12:07 am Post #1 - October 31st, 2004, 12:07 am
    I'm new to Chicago and this is my first posting. I want to thank all of you for some great recommendations and information. My husband and I had a great first meal at Ed's Potsticker House the other night, armed with notes cribbed from here and Chowhound.

Wanted to share a good experience at Afghan Restaurant, on Devon, a couple doors down from the Georgian Bakery. I was excited to notice this place on a previous drive down Devon. Afghan, with its mix of Middle-Eastern/Persian, Russian, Indian, and Chinese influences, is one of my favorite cuisines.

We ordered a bolani (I think I have seen this spelled boulanee elsewhere) appetizer, sabzi chalow and combo kabob entrees.

Bolani is like Indian stuffed paratha bread, but not whole wheat. The plate includes two half-rounds of bread stuffed with different fillings, served warm and crisp, with a very sour yogurt sauce for dipping. The potato filling was a bit bland, but the spinach-green onion filling was fabulous.

The entrees came with a basket of bread (similar to Turkish bread, served warm) with very spicy (hot) chutney for dipping, a small iceberg-lettuce-based mixed salad, a bowl of delicious soup (vegetable or lentil--both are very good, but the lentil was better), and abundant (and splendid) Middle-Eastern-style rice pilaf. This is quite a bonus, because--IMO--you hardly ever get enough rice with entrees at Indian and Middle Eastern places.

Afghan Restaurant's version of sabzi chalow is a mildly spiced, slightly soupy stew of spinach, lamb, and potatoes (mostly spinach) served with rice. I'm used to a thicker preparation, with spinach only, but this sabzi was still flavorful and good. The lamb was tender and a little fatty and the potatoes were a nice addition.