LTH Home

Soft Shell Crab

Soft Shell Crab
  • Forum HomePost Reply BackTop
     Page 1 of 3
  • Soft Shell Crab

Post #1 - June 11th, 2004, 10:39 am
    Post #1 - June 11th, 2004, 10:39 am Post #1 - June 11th, 2004, 10:39 am
    Yowza! I never knew that you were such a versatile all around great cook, Gary. That looks like one awesome recipe.
  • Post #2 - June 11th, 2004, 10:41 am
    Post #2 - June 11th, 2004, 10:41 am Post #2 - June 11th, 2004, 10:41 am
    Hi Gary,

What are the possibilities of grilling s.s. crabs on either direct or indirect heat?

Mike
  • Post #3 - June 11th, 2004, 11:22 am
    Post #3 - June 11th, 2004, 11:22 am Post #3 - June 11th, 2004, 11:22 am
    LthForum,

Already the second week of June and I hadn't made my my famous pan fried soft shell crab with lime sauce. Oh, ok, it's actually Revrend Andy's recipe, but as I have been using the recipe for 10+ years I tend to think of it as mine. It's a deceptively simple recipe, though the use of lime juice and zest really amp up the flavor.

On Tuesday I knew I would be in the vicinity of Dirk's, my current favorite fish store, thanks MAG, so I canceled our usual Tuesday dinner reservation at Romano's Macaroni Grill and made soft shells. Dirk's was, as usual, right on the ball, beautiful, fairly priced, soft shells, gratis lemons and bags of ice for my cooler, all around friendly efficient service.

The recipe calls for the zest of one lime, which I usually grate on my 10-year-old box grater, but this time I decided to use my 'new' microplane grater. I say 'new' as I have had it for months, but am such a creature of habit I never bothered to use the microplane. Oh my, I never knew what I was missing, I should have bought one of these years ago.

With a salad of tomato/red onion/radish, and side of rice, dinner was not only delicious, but quick and easy. The bonus was we had one crab left over, on which I had designs for a sandwich, but my darling wife beat me to the punch. :o

Enjoy,
    Gary