LTH Home

Ward 8 -- Craft Cocktails on Howard Street, Evanston

Ward 8 -- Craft Cocktails on Howard Street, Evanston
  • Forum HomePost Reply BackTop
     Page 1 of 2
  • Ward 8 -- Craft Cocktails on Howard Street, Evanston

Post #1 - January 6th, 2013, 11:02 am
    Post #1 - January 6th, 2013, 11:02 am Post #1 - January 6th, 2013, 11:02 am
    The wife and I had drinks at Ward 8 this Friday night. The owners are Cody and Anne, both formerly of Andersonville's In Fine Spirits. Cody's been a few places since IFS shut down, including a stint bartending at Journeyman Distillery in Michigan.

As an Andersonville resident, I regarded the cocktails at IFS as "good for the neighborhood" but not within the league of Chicago's best places (the Drawing Room, Sable, Scofflaw, Whistler). I don't know how much control Cody had over that cocktail menu. Anyway, either he's gotten a LOT better since then, or his hands were tied at IFS.

This is a great -- and unexpected -- cocktail place. It's on Howard Ave just west of the Metra tracks. There's no sign, as of now -- though apparently they're in the process of getting one approved by Evanston. The interior is classy but understated, and on the small side. No TVs.

The cocktail menu is long for a place like this, with about 20 cocktails and a handful of shots. Before you roll your eyes, note that these house shot is a mix of yellow Chartreuse and bitters, and another is a mixture of two different Fernets (Branca and a new one made in Colorado). We had a number of cocktails, both on menu and off, including an intense (as-yet-unnamed) libation made with green Chartreuse, pineapple juice, tequila and siracha (!). The Elk's Own, with fresh grated nutmeg, was another standout. But everything we had (and we had a lot) was truly top notch.

They have a limited food menu; mostly sandwiches and snacks. The ham sandwich was excellent.