LTH Home

Kaffir Lime: Citrus hystrix

Kaffir Lime: Citrus hystrix
  • Forum HomePost Reply BackTop
  • Kaffir Lime: Citrus hystrix

Post #1 - April 25th, 2005, 4:12 pm
    Post #1 - April 25th, 2005, 4:12 pm Post #1 - April 25th, 2005, 4:12 pm
    Late last week, I received a 36" Kaffir Lime Tree (Citrus hystrix) thanks to our very own ExtraMSG.

As you can see, I finally managed to plant the tree, and for the time being it resides indoors.

While both of my thumbs are quite green, I have no experience with the care and maintenance of containerized citrus in Zone 5. I will be making a trip to the Garfield Park Conservatory this week, where I intend to gather as much information as possible, but if anyone has tips or pointers for me I would be very appreciative.

And, thanks again, ExtraMSG. It is a beautiful specimen.

Erik M.
  • Post #2 - April 25th, 2005, 4:36 pm
    Post #2 - April 25th, 2005, 4:36 pm Post #2 - April 25th, 2005, 4:36 pm
    Hi,

Earlier, I was assisting extramsg in obtaining this tree for you. Unfortunately, these trees are not shipped into this area during cold weather months. Clearly, he found a way to deliver and please.

I found an article on maintaining citrus plants in Alabama. There are a few comments about Keffir Lime Trees, where they comment they are suitable container plants. Container is a keyword because it allows you to carry it in and out due to weather conditions and this is Alabama; a much warmer climate than ours. This article covers quite a bit including when to fertilize and with what.

When you contact the Garfield Conservatory, they will very likely put you in contact with Master Gardners. They may not have the answer at the tip of their tongues, but they are usually very good at research.

May you and your plant enjoy a long life together.

Regards,
    Cathy2

"You'll be remembered long after you're dead if you make good gravy, mashed potatoes and biscuits." -- Nathalie Dupree